Skip To Main Content

Back to School 2023-24

Holland Elementary School will open its administrative office on Wednesday, July 26th.    The office phone number is 812-536-2441. Students will be welcomed to the first day of school on Wednesday, August 9th. Programming includes a focus on writing, one to one devices, Accelerated Reader, 90 minute uninterrupted reading blocks, Rocket Math, DIBELS, SSP, Wellness Initiatives, spell and math bowl competitions, Character Counts Carnival, field trips, field day, musical programs, spelling bee, robotics, book fairs and stem related classroom activities. Students will also participate in the Raider Pride positive reward system emphasizing Persistence, Resourcefulness, Integrity, Dependability and Empathy as well as Rachel’s Challenge. Holland Elementary will incorporate Project Lead the Way activities throughout the year as well as Project based learning experiences.


Preschool and Kindergarten Orientation


Kindergarten Orientation will be Wednesday, August 2nd at 6 pm. Pre-K Orientation will be held Monday August 7 from 6:00-7:30 pm. All parents and students are asked to come through the main entrance at Holland Elementary and you will be directed to your child’s classroom. There will be a short parent meeting, with Mr. Moyes, for all Kindergarten in the Library

First Day of School Information

Approximately 230 Preschool - Grade 5 students will be welcomed to the 2023-2024 school year. Supervision of students begins with the dropping off of students from the first bus at 7:35 a.m. Students who are car riders and walkers should arrive at school no earlier than 7:30 a.m. and no later than 8:00 a.m. Students are not allowed on the grounds prior to 7:30 a.m. Car riders should be dropped off at the south entrance to the gym and will be directed to the main gym entrance by staff members. Walkers should also enter through the main gym door.  On the first first day of school, we encourage all parents to take pictures at home and not at school. This will help with the traffic flow at the school. Parents and guardians will not be allowed to bring students into the building. The staff at Holland Elementary will be outside and helping with any apprehensive students.

Dismissal of car riders and walkers takes place at the canopy entrance to the main building at 3:00 p.m. All students riding the buses are dismissed from either the back door or the gym entrance.

School hours for students in grades K-5 are 8:10 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Preschool students will attend 4 half day sessions Monday through Thursday. The morning session will be from 8:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. while the afternoon session will be from 12:00 p.m. -2:45 p.m.

Open House:  Parents are welcome to visit classrooms and meet teachers on Tuesday, August 15 from 6-7pm. 


We have a very active and supportive PTO.  All parents and teachers are encouraged to be involved. Current officers include: President- Carrie Boerner, Vice-President- Andrea Brown, Treasurer-Alicia Wilz Secretary- Jessica Poole


Welcome back to all our returning and new staff members!
Principal - Jake Moyes
Secretary - Annette Trout
Preschool - Special Needs - Rachel Hopf 
Kindergarten - Krista Gogel, Jessica Lechner 
Grade One - Keshia Matthews, Gwen Sermersheim
Grade Two - Jessica Kendall, Darla Werne 
Grade Three - Katelyn Buening, Breanne Rainey 
Grade Four - Brett Roesner, Lindsey Sickbert
Grade Five - Aundrea Beck, Taylor Duckworth
Media Specialist - Sarah Bardwell
High Ability - Stephanie Bolton
Special Education - Emma Hurst, Melissa Stieneker
Speech - Janet Bradley
Art and Music -Stephanie Bolton
PE - Brett Bardwell 
STEM - Stephanie Landin
Social Worker - Robin Small
Nurse - Cecily Horwath
Food Service - Amanda Henke 812-536-2441 x4006, Karen Reinhart, Barbara Werremeyer, Margaret Preston
Custodial/Maintenance - Eric Corbett

Supply Lists


School Supply List  - A BIG thank you to our PTO for providing supplies to all students! 


PTO:  We have a very active and supportive PTO.  All parents and teachers are encouraged to be involved. Current officers include: President- Andrea Brown, Vice-President- Amber Brockriede, Treasurer- Jessica Austin


Frequently Asked Questions